Arts & Culture
The Charlatans announce their 30th anniversary tour and 'Best Of' compilation release

The Charlatans announce the release of their 30th Anniversary tour and a career-spanning best-of entitled ‘A Head Full of Ideas’. 

Released on Then Recordings through Republic Of Music, ‘A Head Full of Ideas’ will sum up their remarkable progress from 1990 Manchester scene hopefuls to one of the UK’s most enduring and best-loved bands. 

Over the years, the band have had 13 Top 40 studio albums - three of them number ones - alongside 22 hit singles, four of them top 10.

A spokesperson said of the band: “The rollercoaster highs have been accompanied by some shattering lows, any which one of them could have felled a less resilient band, from nervous breakdowns to near bankruptcy and the deaths of two founder members. 

“Somehow, they have not just carried on but adapted and transformed. The classic Charlatans sound - driving Hammond organ, Northern Soul and house-influenced rhythms, swaggering guitars and Tim Burgess’s sunny yet somehow yearning vocal - is instantly recognisable. And in spite of everything they have been through their music is now more relevant than ever, The Guardian described their last album, Different Days as ‘one of their best ever.’” 

The ‘A Head Full of Ideas’ album will also be available as a 6 vinyl LP Box Set. This limited edition set, is a diverse collection portrayed over five Transparent blue vinyl LP’s, spanning their hits, classic live performances, unheard demo’s and rarities and remixes.

Within the box will also be an exclusive Original Demo’s 7” featuring ‘Indian Rope’/’The Only One I Know’, as well as a signed print of a tour poster from the early 90’s, a booklet featuring unseen photographs and sleeve notes by friend and journalist Dave Simpson. 

Their iconic live track One To Another (circa 1997) provides the titles for the individual vinyl collection within the box set. Each piece of vinyl is named after a lyric from the song. 

There will also be triple vinyl LP version and 2CD deluxe version featuring the hits albums, plus a bonus live album ‘Trust is For Believers’, and a cd or vinyl of just the hits albums. 

In celebration of the new best-of album, an accompanying Winter Tour will begin at Belfast, Limelight 22 November 21 and finish in Aberdeen on 20 December 2021. With tickets on sale now, full dates and details are as follows:



November 2021

22 Belfast, Limelight

23 Dublin, Olympia

25 Buckley, The Tivoli

26 Bristol, O2 Academy

27 Birmingham, O2 Academy

29 Bexhill De La Warr Pavilion

30 Bournemouth, Academy


December 2021

02 Oxford, O2 Academy

03 Cambridge, Corn Exchange

04 Manchester, O2 Victoria Warehouse

06 Lincoln, Engine Shed

08 Liverpool, Invisible Wind Factory

09 Newcastle, City Hall

10 London, Brixton Academy

14 Exeter, Great Hall

16 Nottingham, Rock City

17 Leeds, O2 Academy

18 Glasgow, O2 Academy

20 Aberdeen, Music Hall

21 Edinburgh, Corn Exchange 


Tickets are on sale now, available from

  • The Charlatans announce their 30th anniversary tour and 'Best Of' compilation release